The Heart is a Star

0 out of 5

Dive into the heart of Australia with this blockbuster debut where one woman confronts her past, her family’s secrets, and her own identity amid the chaos of midlife, offering a poignant exploration of love, loss, and self-discovery.

Layla Byrnes is exhausted. She’s juggling a demanding job as an anesthesiologist, a disintegrating marriage, her young kids, and a needy lover. And most particularly she’s managing her histrionically unstable mother, who repeatedly threatens to kill herself.

But this year, it’s different. When her mother calls just before Christmas, she doesn’t follow the usual script. Instead, she tells Layla that there’s something she needs to tell her about her much-loved father. In response, Layla drops everything to rush to her childhood home on the wild west coast of Tasmania. She’s determined to finally confront her mother — and find out what really happened to her father — and lay some demons to rest.

The Heart is a Star is an engrossing, lyrical, and powerfully absorbing novel about the complicated and beautiful messiness of midlife; about the ways in which we navigate an intricate, complicated world; and about how we can uncover our true selves when we are forced to face the myths that make us.

  • Author: Rogers, Megan
  • Genre:
  • Date: January 7, 2025
  • ISBN: 9781771683906
  • Pages: 320
  • Price: 28.00
Buy

Description

Megan Rogers began her career as an editorial assistant in publishing houses before moving into marketing libraries. She has taught creative writing in universities for over ten years and holds a PhD in Creative Writing. Her debut novel, The Heart is a Star, was one of Australia’s bestselling debuts in 2023 and has been optioned by the award-winning Aquarius Films for screen adaptation. She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and two daughters.

“The main draw of The Heart is a Star is the emotional complexity of the intimate relationships it portrays, the maturity of its protagonist, and the psychological intricacy of navigating revelations that change not only the present, but one’s own past.” — Sydney Morning Herald

“Absorbing, engrossing and brilliant.” —The Australian

“Every word contains multitudes of meaning. Steeped in thematic intensity, The Heart is a Star is a deeply engaging story about becoming un-numbed, letting go of illusion, and learning to become more human through the balance of emotion and logic.’”— Artshub

“Captivating … The Heart is a Star is a powerful novel with evocative and enticing language that will appeal to readers of Richard Flanagan and Holly Ringland. Rooted in feminine empowerment, Rogers’ debut is necessary and enthralling reading, and will stay with the reader long after the last page.” — Books+Publishing

“This book blew my socks off. The Heart is a Star is a combination of gorgeous, thoughtful prose, a deep family mystery and a meditation on what happens when we realize we’ve been steering ourselves (or have been steered by others) in the wrong direction.” — Hannah Richell, author of The Search Party

​”Impressive in its structure, tension and sensitivity.” — Newtown Review of Books

“Tense, heartbreaking and crackling with vivid honesty – all those tiny, telling details that have you nodding with recognition and wanting to gulp the book in one rush of a sitting. I could not put this book down. A new star is born in the writing firmament.” — Nikki Gemmell, author of The Bride Stripped Bare

“A novel to treasure. Fragile, tender, honest, raw – and luminescent with hope.” – Mimi Kwa, author of House of Kwa

“Impressive … a compelling story told with sensitivity and intelligence.” – Lyn Yeowart, author of The Silent Listener

  • Author: Rogers, Megan
  • Genre:
  • Date: January 7, 2025
  • ISBN: 9781771683906
  • Pages: 320
  • Price: 28.00
Buy